Storey building collapses in Nairobi, Kenya.

A seven-storey apartment building in Kenya’s capital Nairobi has collapsed. The building located in eastern Nairobi was reported to have developed cracks and dozens of residents were evacuated before it collapsed.

reuters

image source; reuters

The police told local media that 121 people have been rescued while the Saint John’s Ambulance service said 15 were missing. Kenya Red Cross is conducting an ongoing search and rescue operation at the collapse site with other security and disaster management services, Africanews reports.

The BBC also reports that more than 100 people have been accounted for, but five people were still trapped including a woman with her three children.

It should be noted that over 30 people were killed when a six-storey building collapsed in Nairobi’s Huruma district last year,  leaving hundreds missing with over 100 rescued alive. The collapse was partly due to torrential rains and the poor quality of construction. The owners were arrested and had to face the law.

Author: Mesumbe Neville

16 thoughts on “Storey building collapses in Nairobi, Kenya.

  1. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

    Like

  2. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!

    Like

  3. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

    Like

  4. That happens to me often too, its just about taking the leap. I just jot down ideas randomly then when I get a clear head i try to write them out constructively.

    Like

  5. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and great design and style.

    Like

  6. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. Nevertheless think of if
    you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this blog could undeniably
    be one of the very best in its field. Very good blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

